Visit any Deputy Registrar office and ask for a motorcycle permit packet. You must take a written test to obtain your permit before you start the Basic Rider class. To help you study for this written test, be sure to pick up a Motorcycle Operator Manual and a Digest of Motor Vehicle Laws.
After studying for the test, go to a drivers license exam station and take a vision test and the motorcycle written test.
Yes, and you must bring your permit the first day/night of class.
Yes, you can take the class if you have your temporary motorcycle permit. But the course completion card can only be used within 60 days of the class completion date as a waiver for the state motorcycle skills test. Those under 18 must meet Graduated Driver Licensing requirements. Note: Minors will need to have a parent or guardian sign forms on the first day/night of class.
Yes. Present the course completion card to a Deputy Registrar within 60 days of the course completion date. Those under 18 must also meet Graduated Driver Licensing requirements.
You must have a valid motorcycle permit to take this course. Kentucky recognizes completion of the Ohio Basic Rider MSF course as a waiver for the rider test. Before taking the course, do the following:
Kentucky: Contact Tim Cody, Kentucky Motorcycle Education, firstname.lastname@example.org or 1-800-396-3234.
Other States: Contact your state license bureau before taking the class.
You can reschedule your class by calling 513.612.5847. NO REFUNDS will be made for this class.
Yes. See the answer to the question above. A $50 registration fee is required, and can be paid by credit/debit card. We do not accept cash or money orders.
We offer a variety of class schedule dates, so re-check the schedule to see if any might work. You might also try the standby walk-in process. See "What to do when classes are filled" for details.
A $50 registration fee is required for each class. You can avoid an additional fee by rescheduling a class at least two weeks before the start date at by calling 513.612.5733.
Online registration will start in January. If online registration is not convenient for you, you could have someone else register you online for a class. For assistance with registration call 513.612.5733 between the hours of 2:00 pm and 6:00 pm, or you could try our standby walk-in process.
No, we do not use a waiting list for the motorcycle safety classes. But you might consider trying to get into a class as a standby walk-in. See "What to do when classes are filled" for details.
You could also try the standby walk-in process to enter a class earlier than the one you are already registered for. If you get into the class, show the instructor your payment receipt that shows you have paid the $50 registration fee for a later class.
Yes, you can use your own motorcycle or scooter if it is between 125 and 500 cc. It must be a two-wheeled vehicle, and be properly licensed. Before the riding exercises on day two of the class, you must give a copy of your insurance to the instructor. The instructor will also inspect it for road worthiness. For more details, see the state website at www.motorcycle.ohio.gov and select 'Rider Courses'.
There are specific clothing requirements, as follows:
- Over the ankle sturdy footwear
- Full-finger gloves
- Long-sleeved shirt or jacket
- Long pants without holes - preferably jeans
- Your own DOT-approved helmet. To help reduce the exposure and spread of COVID-19 Motorcycle Ohio will not be offering loaner helmets for the 2020 riding season. Motorcycle Ohio will reevaluate the loaner helmet program at the end of the 2020 riding season along with the status of the COVID-19 to determine we will be loaning helmets for the 2021 riding season.
- Eye protection if using a helmet with the face shield open.
See additional information on the Motorcycle Ohio website.
Riding stops during a thunder/lightning storm, but will continue after the lightning has stopped. Otherwise classes continues in the rain.
The Motorcycle Ohio website lists the topics covered in this class. See www.motorcycle.ohio.gov, and select Basic Rider, then classroom topics.
About 1600 students complete motorcycle safety training each year at Great Oaks. This is an Ohio Department of Public Safety program, with specific resource requirements and budget limitations. Classes are limited to 12 students per class for the riding sessions.
Motorcycle Ohio (under the Ohio Department of Public Safety) sets the policy and procedures for this training program.
Students who successfully complete the Motorcycle Ohio Basic Rider Course will have the State of Ohio skill test waived, and will receive their motorcycle endorsement/license upon presenting the course completion card to a Deputy Registrar. Some insurance companies may also give a discount on policies to those that complete this course.
Instructor information is available at www.motorcycle.ohio.gov/instructors.stm. Take the Basic Rider class if you have not already done so recently. Also talk to one of our instructors after any Basic Rider class.